The Water Mill is one of the four unique homes which make Bradbourne Mill. The Mill is the oldest surviving corn mill in Derbyshire.
An Okeover Charter confirms this site dates back to circa 1180 and the land owner at this time was Sir Geoffrey de Cauceis - the grandson to Henry de Ferrers.
Later, Sir Robert de Bradbourne rented the mill in 1247 to three canons of Dunstable Priory who built a Manor House and Grange buildings in Bradbourne near to All Saints Church. The canons would mill their grain into flour; they were gifted the parish lands in Bradbourne, Tissington, Baildon, Brassington, Atlow and received a tithe in Lea Hall and Aldwark.
In a charter of circa 1260 there was a baker who lived opposite the mill in the early medieval village of Lee, the first Knights of Bradbourne resided in Lea Hall before relocating to Hogh Park in Hulland by 1250.
The Mill's purpose was to mill their grain into flour for the surrounding villages of the south western peaks. There was only one water mill for this area at the time of Domesday. As this is the earliest recorded water mill, it is a real contender for the site of the Domesday Mill located within Tissington (Lee was a moiety of Tissington).
Both Mill wheels remain and great efforts over the last century have been made to restore and start up the running of these wheels once again. We are pleased to announce they are in good working order and provide a beautiful aspect for visitors at The Water Mill to see.